top of page

Geek in a Dress

Those who know me are aware that I'm a driven creator. I write. I paint. Sometimes - not terribly often, but sometimes - I sew.

Recently, I was just dying to make a dress. The urge came from a number of places, partly due to the fact that my wardrobe has become increasingly replaced with recycled outfits of gym shorts and old university tees, but also because sticking to one medium can be incredibly stagnating. With my editorial internship taking up a large portion of my days, creative projects of mine that don't involve writing were being sidelined more often than completed. To get myself back into the right mindset for a more physical project, nothing seemed more perfect than the challenge of a simple dress.

Then, Pokémon GO happened.

I'll admit: the revelation was not a simultaneous one. I'd already had the fabric home and lain out before I'd caught wind of the game's impending arrival, living under the rock that I do. Now, I don't believe in fate, I don't believe in kismet, but if ever there was a moment that I questioned my worldview, you're damn right it was Pokémon related.

I'm a geek. A geek who now has a pretty dress.

Pokémon dress

DIY is a choice I live by, so despite Simplicity coming out with a great collection of cosplay patterns and the like, this dress came with no instruction. I didn't even mock up a pattern of my own; instead, choosing a cheap skater dress I'd gotten from Macy's on a ridiculous clearance ($4, can you believe it?) and eyeballing it. While its off-the-rack counterpart stretches to hug every curve, my version very much does not. When it zips, it fits like a glove. A pastel, Pokémon covered glove.

I'm no professional seamstress - it's been a long time since my last dress, let me tell you - so it's not without its issues. There's the smallest bit of zipper peeking out of the seam at the bottom (so very, very small) and some of my decorative stitching around the edge of the back is less than perfect, but honestly, I couldn't be happier. The love is clear in the small touches: the hand tacked ribbon, the side hugging pleats, the folded tent back skirt and hand-tied ribbon.

Obviously, the only thing left to do was hold my very own Poké-shoot, complete with the world's softest Pikachu! Check out the photos below!

So... anyone else want a dress?

bottom of page